borderlinegirlliveshere











{May 25, 2012}   Managing Suicide Risk in Borderline Personality Disorder

Managing Suicide Risk in Borderline Personality Disorder

Distinguishing Real Risk From Attention Seeking

 
By Robert J. Gregory, MD | May 1, 2012
 
Dr Gregory is Professor and Interim Chair of Psychiatry and Director of the Center for Emotion and Behavior Integration in the department of psychiatry at SUNY Upstate Medical University in Syracuse, NY. He reports no conflicts of interest concerning the subject matter of this article.

Although health care providers may not take the threat of suicide seriously in patients who have BPD, these patients are often serious about suicide. Long-term studies indicate that compared with controls, patients with BPD have an 8% to 10% increased risk of completed suicide, which is comparable to that of patients who have MDD and schizophrenia.2 Moreover, minor overdoses frequently represent ambivalent suicide intent, and episodes of non-suicidal self-injury are markers for suicide risk and predict future suicide attempts.3,4

Conscious “attention-seeking” behavior is rare, although both patients and health care providers may attempt to frame suicidal behavior that way. As with Ms A, patients may minimize the seriousness of their intent, stating it was just “attention-seeking,” or “I was just trying to sleep,” making it easy for health care providers to question the validity of their patients’ actions.

On the other hand, not every gesture or threat is an indication for a prolonged inpatient hospital stay. Patients may threaten suicide as a way of obtaining or extending hospital stays. A study by Gregory and Jindal5 of 100 consecutive inpatient admissions showed that factitious production of suicide ideation, gestures, and threats was common among women with BPD at the time of discharge. Suicide threats and behavior served as a means of justifying the seriousness of their condition to providers, and to themselves. Given this information, is the underlying message that we should take suicidal ideation and behavior seriously, but not too seriously? How can we understand suicide risk in BPD?

I take issue with the whole “attention seeking” language. When I’m experiencing a rage or depression I feel like dying but I know I would never do it. I tell those around me that because it’s the only way I can describe how horrible I feel. I hope no one thinks I say it for attention because I don’t but I’m not at risk either. I just don’t know what to do.



I know you don’t, all of us do, its hard for anyone without BPD to imagine the pain if they have no clue. They equate it to their pain which is on a completely different scale!



I try to get people to imagine the worst day of their life and tell them that my pain is like reliving their worst day every single day! That sometimes helps them understand.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
Life after BPD

Life after Borderline Personality Disorder; making a life worth living through love, laughter, positivity and Dialectical Behaviour Therapy

confessionsofbpd

The secret life of high-functioning borderline personality disorder.

Bi-polar parenting

Thoughts and ideas

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

